Bad pet owners make me feel stabby

I have to get on a soap box for a moment. Please keep scrolling if you don’t want to hear it. Pit bull owners, People are trying to ban your dog, based on the reputation the breed has gotten for being vicious. Knowing this, if you love your dog, you have a responsibility to be a responsible pet owner. That means thorough training. Having your dog spayed or neutered. Keeping your dog on a leash at all times in places that free run is not encouraged. It means doing your very best to be a good ambassador for the breed. 
I do not let my old, perfectly trained, 50 pound dog run loose, because I understand that some people may not know how to behave around a dog, and may do something that would cause my dog to attempt to protect himself. So why on earth do you think it is okay for your young, 75 pound pit, that has a habit of enjoying the game of knocking down the kids in the neighborhood and trying to show his dominance over them, to run free? From my window, just today, and just when I looked out randomly, I saw this dog: Jump the fence and bust open our back neighbors trash, as well as pull their back screen door off the hinges. I saw him chase two kids, who thank goodness made it into the house without him barrelling in. Like he did that time he was chasing my dog. I saw him knock over the basketball goal. and chew on the hoop. My dog has had to do the potty dance all day, because every time I tried to take Shadow out, Your dog came bounding up the stairs, to invite himself in. All of these times I saw him, one thing I never saw was you. You are letting this big, strong, untrained, un neutered, beast of a dog run loose with zero supervision. 
I can not begin to tell how furious this makes me. As a dog lover and a bully breed advocate, it makes me sick to know that I am watching what I am sure is a terrible tragedy in the making. It makes me sad to know there is NOTHING I can do to save that poor dog from what I am sure will be his inevitable journey as yet another strike against the breed. But Also know, that if something tragic DOES happen while I am around, I will tell everyone the truth. As soon as you get done telling the cameras that he was a good dog, well trained, you can’t believe this happened, blah blah blah., I will be right behind you, telling all of those same cameras that what you said is a lie. That the real culprit is YOU for refusing to be a responsible pet owner. I will shout from the roof how irresponsible you were, and how that poor dog never had a chance. And I will also be telling everyone who listens about how I have called the city shelter to know avail, and exhausted every single avenue I could think of, barring bringing him into my home and smuggling him away. And while it won’t help your dog, I will do my best to bring to light the responsibility of the pet owner in these situations.

I know how badly this is written. I will probably come back and edit it once I am not so freaking furious. I just needed to get it out before I went over and told my neighbor what a cuntastic douchenozzle I think he is. Because the dude fancies himself a thug, so I wouldn’t put it past him to do something harmful, cowardly, and expense causing against my family. 

About Donna Nichola

Perpetual awkward teenager trapped in the body of a Thirty something. Spends her days trying to justify why she should make a pan of brownies, and grappling with the sad reality that she never will be a rock star.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bad pet owners make me feel stabby

  1. Marcela says:

    Excellent post:) You are 100% right. Many pet parents of bully breeds, since this is the breed right now being targeted, need to take things more serious and make sure that their dog are always supervised, trained, and on a leash. I have a pit mix, and she is almost 11 years old. I do not, when family comes to visit with children, leave her unsupervised. I also tell my family and children not to: run, scream, make sudden movement, and touch her while she is asleep. I take precautions because although she is an amazing companion, she is not used to children. I took her for Obedience I, years ago and she did amazing. She is never off leash unless she is home. Even if she was not a pit mix, I’d still make sure that I am protecting my dog and the people and dogs around us. As a person and pet parent, we, humans, should and must take responsibility for our dogs regardless of the breed. After a dog, specially a pit bull bites a person, it is usually too late.

  2. AngelNicki says:

    Sorry I keep commenting on your blog… I’m not a stalker… I just keep finding entries I can relate to! I volunteer with a rescue organization and we get pit bulls all the time, whom we spring from high-kill shelters. Just about every pittie I’ve met is a super sweetheart. Usually the chihuahuas are the ones we have to worry about, LOL! But as you said, its really all about the owner and how they train and care for their dogs. People who choose pit bulls as their pets need to be especially thorough about training their dogs, because one false move and your dog could get shot! I know people who keep going through training and get their pitbulls trained as therapy dogs, or get them the Canine Good Citizen certificate, just to make sure their dog is the best possible example of a good dog! Unfortunately, because of their reputation, pit bulls tend to attract owners who want a big, mean, tough dog, to help them project their image of being big, mean, tough people.

Leave a Reply

