How Do I Do It?

I seem to have run into a problem, regarding the spreading the news of my blog. I really want to share with everyone, “Hey, I am writing a blog about the subtle joy I find in cursing, drinking and calling my lady parts by funny names. Please come check it out, and tell me what you think.”, but I don’t feel like I can.

The issue I am having is this: I doing a moderately decent job at fooling people into thinking I am not completely bat shit insane.  So what happens if some of the people who I keep my creepy away from decide to check it out. What if Mrs. Nevillbottom from my church’s Lady Worshippers group decides to check out my writing, and not only is she scandalized by my love of the word ‘fuck’, but she decides she doesn’t like me anymore, and will not allow her husband to eat anything I make at our church potlucks?

Or my mother? I mean, I don’t care if my mom reads this. She gave birth to me, she knows the nature of my crazy, because she is the one that gave it to me.  But what if she decides to ask her friends to read it?  Am I somehow responsible if it somehow embarrasses my mom?

But the thing is, I am kind of tired of trying so hard to seem normal. To keep the humor I find in the things around me to myself, no matter how many blank stares I get when I explain that every time I sing, “Praise Jesus Christ whose power uplifts”, I think “Praise Jesus Christ who Power lifts”, and I imagine Jesus at the gym, all buffed out, tribal tats on his biceps, being all, “Yo, my brethen, wouldst thou spot me?”.

Because let’s be honest. That shit right there is funny. It is delightfully sacrilidge!

Does anyone who has been blogging for a while have any tips about dealing with this sort of thing?

About Donna Nichola

Perpetual awkward teenager trapped in the body of a Thirty something. Spends her days trying to justify why she should make a pan of brownies, and grappling with the sad reality that she never will be a rock star.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How Do I Do It?

  1. Michelle says:

    Greetings Nicki, fellow woman writer! Sorry I have no tips as I’ve only just started blogging myself, but I always remember what my mum told me – write what you know. You can also chuck in there “Be yourself. No one can ever tell you you’re doing it wrong.”

    Praise Jesus Christ who power lifts! lol

  2. AngelNicki says:

    I have similar fears about my blog… and one time when I first started blogging a looooooong time ago I absent-mindedly mentioned in a post mentioned something my mother had said about a family member… and another family member, who must have been combing through my blog page by page, found it, and CALLED MY MOM TO RAT ME OUT! My solution lately is just not to mention to anyone in my family that I even have a blog, and I try not to mention my full real name anywhere on my blog. I do publish some posts on Facebook, but I only make them visible to a select list of people.
    By the way… great name, LOL! Is it short for Nicole or Nichole? (Mine is Nichole. My parents threw a random H in there just to make sure people would misspell and mispronounce it for the rest of my life.)

    • Nicki says:

      Nicole. It is my middle name. I endured way too much teasing because of my first name, so I never use it. Luckily, I do not have to worry about family ratting anything out to my mom. I don’t think she would care anyway. lol

  3. Kenna says:

    Obviously, never mention names. Make it seem like it can apply to anyone. I recently wrote down a string of thoughts about someone very close to me but made it seem like it could be about so many people. Always keep them guessing and never reveal the entire truth.

    I always write for myself. That’s what I love about writing. I’ve done it all my life. Obviously I got started in the blogging world not too long ago, but I’ve been writing stories, poems, everything… always for me. I still haven’t found my exact style, but for me it’s not even about that. It’s not about making money (although that would just be the cat’s pajamas, making $ while sitting on my ass) and it’s not about being famous. It’s just about writing… writing… writing… basically a huge outlet for everything jumbled in my head and the most fun I have writing is making my real life and the details seem like they have almost nothing to do with my real life. I’m like Jane Austin with a twist.

    As for your family and friends, you can choose to promote yourself to them, or you can choose to not promote yourself to them. I, personally, don’t care. I find my writing to be very blunt sometimes and people can always tell my true feelings and most of the time get the tone of the text, but that’s me and I’m not out to pretend I live three million lives.

    I’m horrible with advice… most I can say is, please yourself first. It’s your writing. Don’t try and be malicious and hurt someone, but also don’t hold back because your trying to please everyone, that’ll never happen. Someone could like vanilla, someone could like chocolate, and here you are being strawberry. It sucks, but it’s the world. And hey, at least I like you!

    PS adding you to my blog list now!

  4. Rab says:

    be yourself but pseudonyms are okay too.

  5. Kim says:

    Just be yourself… Us crazies love us some other crazies. 😉

Leave a Reply

