I am a terrible pet parent (anyone want to adopt?)

So, because I am a glutton for punishment, I am fostering a dog.  One of my cousins saw said dog in the shelter, and one of the volunteers said that if he was not adopted on that day, he would be euthanized the next day, because he had been at the shelter for just too long (9 days, including his 72 hour hold for being a stray.). Knowing what a sucker glutton for punishment softie pushover compassionate person I am, she texted me the photos of the dog. Said puppy, who is for the moment named Boozer, is a 7 month old Beagle/Boxer mix.

So, not being able to turn down a cute snout, I agreed to foster him until he could find his forever family. Because I figured I could work on training him, get him straight medically (neutered, shots, HW preventative) and since the older kid is in school most of the day, and we have a much older dog who is a perfect gentleman, I assumed he would help me train the puppy. Easy breezy, right.

I fear I have once again over estimated my ability to handle stress.

This is the photo sent to manipulate me. How could I say no?

  This is the photo sent to manipulate me. How could I say no?

The Husband person trying to hold him still for a photo.

The Husband person trying to hold him still for a photo.

First off, He and the Evil Genius child have decided they are best friends. I would not be surprised if she has decided that when she is supreme leader of the world, Boozer will be her vice supreme leader. She likes how he seems to follow her every insane and baby talked command. She also likes that he is teaching her how to annoy the living crap out of me.

The supreme leader and her right hand man, plotting how they will end that big purple menace.

The supreme leader and her right hand man, plotting how they will end that big purple menace.

I can not tell you how many times I have caught her trying to smuggle him things he does not need. Like red pens, for example. In return, he is teaching her how to dig holes next to the fence, and chew on my shoes. I have yet to see him do these two things, but she was not doing them before he got here.

He also has decided that since he still has testicles (for the moment), it is his job to challenge the other men in the house. This has resulted in him attempting to pee on the husband every chance he gets. It has also resulted in him peeing on our old gentleman dog’s special bed. Every. single. time. I put it back together after washing it. Yeah. I am not pleased. I know it is normal for a puppy. It just drives me nuts that excluding these two exceptions, he is potty trained.

"Later, I will pee on you. But for now, please, draw me like one of your French girls.

“Later, I will pee on you. But for now, please, draw me like one of your French girls.

I think what I am most upset about though, is that I was once again wrong on how much I could handle.  Turns out, I suck at this multiple kid, multiple pet, one of which is a baby, thing.  I want to find Boozer a home. Quickly. Not because he is bad, but rather because I am no where near as good at juggling things as I am.  I mean, I guess in theory I am alright. No one has died, my house is not filthy and covered in pee, and I have taught him several important lessons on dog manners.  But in all honesty, I have had him a week, and I am just exhausted. I am ready for him to find his people. That is where I hope you all come in.

If you know anyone in the DFW area that has been looking for the perfect dog to grow up with your kids, here he is.  Boozer is a big, goofy oaf, who loves playing with children. He is also sweet and gentle and loving. He loves the be the big spoon to my year old Evil Genius child’s little spoon.  He is very submissive, and he is very gentle.  He has a touch of separation anxiety, but does well if you remind him to be quite.  He is crate trained and house broken, save for typical pee marking that I have already mentioned and will probably disappear after he is neutered. You looking for a great dog? Give me a shout.

Obligatory doggie smiles to make you fall in love.

Obligatory doggie smiles to make you fall in love.

 

 

About Donna Nichola

Perpetual awkward teenager trapped in the body of a Thirty something. Spends her days trying to justify why she should make a pan of brownies, and grappling with the sad reality that she never will be a rock star.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

